You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Buy Music

Support us by purchasing a CD for $23 inc postage, all funds will go back into the choir

Unclouded day cover

Unclouded Day: The NZSSC 2017-2018 in Concert



Artistic Director Dr Andrew Withington; Accompanist Brent Stewart ; Vocal Consultant Rachel Alexander

1: Kanaval (Sydney Guillaume)
2: Magnificat (Charles Theodore Pachelbel)
3: Lacrimosa (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, from Requiem in D Minor)
4: Salve Regina (David N. Childs) 
5: Hine Ma Tov (Arr. Neil Ginsberg)
6: Stemning (Hugo Alfvén) 
7: Buama, geht’s tanzn (Arr. Maria Fürntratt)
8: Bring Me Little Water, Silvy (Huddie Ledbetter, arr. Moira Smiley)
9: Unclouded Day (Rev. J. K. Alwood, arr. Shawn Kirchner)
10: Pakipaki (Words by Tihi Puanaki, music by Te Huaki Puanaki Senior and Junior) 
11: Te Mura O Te Ahi (Words by Tihi Puanaki, music by Te Huaki Puanaki Senior and Junior) 
12: The Seal Lullaby (Eric Whitacre) 
13: Spring Rain (Ēriks Ešenvalds) Commissioned by the NZSSC and the NZ Youth Choir for the NZ Choral Federation’s Choral Connect ’17. 
14: My Fair Lady (Lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner, music by Frederick Loewe, arr. Andy Beck) 
15: A Te Tarakihi (Arr Brent Stewart) 
16: O Maia Soma E/Malie Tagifa (Arr. Steven Rapana for the NZSSC 2017-2018)

Order CDs

I sing cover final for website

I Sing Because I'm Happy : A 30th Anniversary Celebration. The NZSSC 2015-2016 in concert

Musical Director Andrew Withington; Accompanist Brent Stewart; Vocal Consultant Rachel Alexander

1: Ko Te Tahitanga Tenei

Words by Tihi Puanaki, music by Te Huaki Puanaki Senior and Junior.

2: Media Vita

Notker Balbulus, arranged by Michael McGlynn.

3: Jauchzet dem Herrn, alle Welt (Opus 69, Number 2)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

4: O Magnum Mysterium

David N. Childs

5: Altered Days

Words attributed to John Barr, arranged by Richard Oswin

6: Loch Lomond

Arranged by David Lantz III.

7: Feller from Fortune

Arranged by Harry Somers

8: Rotaļa (Round Dance)

Juris Karlsons

9: Past Life Melodies

Sarah Hopkins.

10: Whanau Marama

David Hamilton, electronic sounds realised by Tsubasa Kawamoto.

11: Sure on this Shining Night

Text by James Agee, music by Morten Lauridsen.

12: I Got Rhythm

Words and music by George and Ira Gershwin, arranged by Mark Hayes.

13: It’s De-Lovely

Words and music by Cole Porter, arranged by Jay Althouse.

14: I Sing Because I’m Happy

Words by Civilla D. Martin, music by Charles H. Gabriel, arranged by Kenneth Paden, adapted by Rollo Dilworth.

15: Hine, E Hine

Princess Te Rangi Pai, arranged by Andrew Withington.

16: Lota Nu’u & Manu O Le Vaveao*

Arranged by Steven Rapana.


*Arrangement commissioned by the NZSSC, 2015


Order CDs

2014 cover

World on a String: The NZSSC 2013-14 in Concert



Conductor Andrew Withington;  Accompanist Brent Stewart; Vocal Consultant Rachel Alexander

1: Jerusalem

Arr. Michael McGlynn

2: Dies Irae from Requiem

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

3: Weihnachten (Op. 79, No. 1)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

4: Der 115. Psalm: Nicht uns, Herr, sondern deinen Namen (Op. 2, no. 22)

Heinrich Schütz

5: Ave Maria

Franz Biebl

6: Vineta from Drei Gesange (Op. 42, nr. 2)

Johannes Brahms

7: Mouth Music

Arr. Dolores Keane and John Faulkner

8: In Remembrance

David N. Childs

9: Scarborough Fair

Arr. Stephen Smith

10: Twa Tanbou

Sydney Guillaume

11: Kua Rongo

Wehi Whanau

12: Requiescat*

David N. Childs

13: Sonnet of the Moon

David N. Childs

14: Lux Aeterna

Richard Oswin

15: Bumba Chora from Suite Nordestina

Ronaldo Miranda

16: Dende Trapia from Suite Nordestina

Ronaldo Miranda

17: Cloudburst

Eric Whitacre

18: America from West Side Story

Leonard Bernstein, arr. William Stickles

19: Celebrate!

Keith Hampton

20: I’ve Got the World on a String

Harold Arlen, arr. Kirby Shaw

21: Tate Le Fia Manatua 

Arr. Steven Rapana and Benson Wilson**


*Commissioned by the NZSSC in memory of Lois Coplon, the choir’s Executive Officer 1996—2009. Based on the poem “Remember” by Victorian poet, Christina Rosetti.

**Arrangement commissioned by the NZSSC


Order CDs

Akoako i te rangi cover only 3

Akoako i te rangi: Aspire together to the highest of standards. The NZSSC 2011-2012 in concert

Conductor Andrew Withington; Accompanist Grant Bartley (Piano and Organ)

 1: Veni, veni Emmanuel

Arr. Zoltán Kodály

2: Hallelujah Chorus from Messiah

George Frederic Handel

3: Mitten wir im Leben sind, Opus 23, Number 3

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

4: Geistliches Lied, Opus 30

Johannes Brahms

5: O salutaris hostia

Gioachino Rossini

6: Rytmus from Three Etudes

Ivan Hrušovský

7: Esto Les Digo

Kinley Lange

8: Nemesi *

John Psathas

9: Gallipoli Peninsula* from Three Gallipoli Settings *

Richard Oswin

10: The Last to Leave* from Three Gallipoli Settings

Richard Oswin

11: Spirit of ANZAC* from Three Gallipoli Settings

Richard Oswin

12: Altered Days from Sweet Sleeps and Altered Days *

Text attributed to John Barr, arr. Richard Oswin

13: The Pasture from Frostiana

Text Robert Frost, music Randall Thompson

14: Dúlamán

Irish, by Michael McGlynn

15: Glettur

Icelandic, by Stephen Hatfield

16: Glädjens blomster

Trad. Swedish, arr. Hugo Alfvén

17: La, la, la, je ne l’ose dire

Pierre Certon

18: Dirait-on from Les Chansons des Roses

Text Rainer Maria Rilke, music Morten Lauridsen

19: Shenandoah

Trad. American, arr. James Erb

20: ‘S Wonderful

George and Ira Gershwin, arr. Phil Mattson

21: Tofa Mai Feleni *

Trad. Samoan, arr. Steven Rapana

22: Toia Mai

Paraire Tomoana

23: Wairua Tapu Tau Mai Ra

Wehi Whanau


*Commisioned by the NZSSC for the 2011/12 choir.


Order CDs

2010 cover only 2

NZSSC 2009/2010 in concert




Conductor Andrew Withington; Accompanist Grant Bartley


1: Achieved is the Glorious Work from ‘The Creation’

Franz Joseph Haydn

2: Kyrie Eleison und Heilig from ‘Die Deutschen Liturgie’

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

3: Sanctus

Richard Oswin

4: Salve Regina

David Childs

5: I Was Glad

C. Hubert H. Parry

6: From Three Swedish Folksongs

Arr. Hugo Alfvén

  • Vall visa från Älvdalen
  • Folkvisa från Gotland

7: Byker Hill from ‘Three North Country Folk Songs’

Arr. Philip Wilby

8: Erev Shel Shoshanim

Josef Hadar, arr. Jack Klebanow

9: Blow, Blow Thou Winter Wind from ‘Shakespeare Songs’

William Mathias

10: Five Movements from ‘Liebeslieder Walzers’

Johannes Brahms

  • Number 9 – Am Donaustrande
  • Number 4 – Wie des Abends schöne Röte
  • Number 14 – Sieh, wie ist die Welle klar
  • Number 11 – Nein, es ist nicht auszukommen
  • Number 12 – Schlosser auf, und mache Schlösser

11: Kua Rongo

Wehi Whanau

12: Three New Zealand Folksongs

Richard Oswin

  • Number 1 – Soon May the Wellerman Come
  • Number 2 – Darling Johnny O
  • Number 3 – Rise Out Your Bed

13: The Moon Is Distant From The Sea

David Childs

14: Hine, E Hine

Arr. Diane Cooper

15: Ain’t Misbehavin’

Thomas Waller and Harry Brooks, arr. Peter Gritton

16: I Got Rhythm

George and Ira Gershwin, arr. Mark Hayes

17: Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen

Arr. Bob Chilcott

18: Mauga e ole Atuolo

Arr. Ieti Leu’u

19: Pokarekare Ana

Arr. Douglas Mews


Order CDs